April Blues

By Rob Packer

The rain of the last few days let off to end in a clear spring evening and this revealed patches of bluebells and forget-me-nots, yet more signs of the modulations of colour that mark the changing seasons in Britain—although nothing on the magic of bluebell woods at this time of year.

I’m not sure whether these are English, Spanish or hybrid bluebells, though. Leave a comment if you know.

7 Responses to April Blues

  1. Sigh. Sigh! I love this series. You captured such pretty shots. The blue really pops against the green. Soothing. Bluebells and Forget-me-nots are favorites. I wonder how they got their name. Off to the land of Google! Theadora

    • robpacker says:

      Thanks! I’m glad you liked them.
      Just ran to check the dictionary and the forget-me-not is a word-for-word translation from French. But I’m sure there are lots of wacky theories about how it got that name.

    • robpacker says:

      The gardener (my mum) had an interesting interpretation on where forget-me-nots get their name. She said there’s little chance of forgetting them: they’re impossible to control and always come back year after year without fail.

  2. Thanks, Rob! I love your mum’s interpretation. It’s such a pretty little flower! I did a little digging. It has played muse to Wallace Stevens, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, and Henry David Thoreau. Thoreau wrote, “”The mouse-ear forget-me-not, Myosotis laxa, has now extended its racemes very much, and hangs over the edge of the brook. It is one of the most interesting minute flowers. It is the more beautiful for being small and unpretending; even flowers must be modest.” Nice! Theadora (Again, what a beautiful post!)

  3. Rosemary says:

    Rob’s mum here. The forget me nots are a cause of dispute between me and Rob’s dad. I think they are pretty and like the way you can pull them up after they flower. By that time they have already seeded themselves and grow again next year with no trouble at all. John regards them as a weed. We think the bluebells are the Spanish variety. They look pretty in the pictures but are colonising the garden. Now they are difficult to get rid of!

  4. George says:

    Having the same problem here but after much consideration – Spanish!

    • Rob says:

      I think you’re right. Isn’t it that the English ones have flowers all down the one side and the Spanish ones are more upright?

Leave a Reply

