Chalk and Cheese: The Art of Going Local

By Rob Packer

In English, if you want to emphasize how different two things are, you say they’re like chalk and cheese. In Central Asia, they have kurut. Kurut is the “final stage in the milk cycle” according to the Lonely Planet. It’s a ball of dried kefir, a drinking version of sour cream, and is just like a chalky ball of cheese.

Kurut traditionally comes with beer in Central Asia and this is where I first came across it. When it was first handed to me, I tried to take a bite; when that turned out to be impossible, I stuck the whole thing in my mouth. What happened next is best described as a taste explosion: after a hard crunch, my mouth was filled with a chalky substance that tasted vaguely of sour cream and for all I tried to chew, it wouldn’t go away until I washed it down with beer. I thought it was disgusting and vowed never to have it again.

But Central Asia gets to you. I had it again on a breakfastless journey over a mountain pass in Uzbekistan. And I don’t know what made me to go into a kiosk earlier today, look at the jar of kurut and say “I’ll have ten, please”.  Is this a sign to leave or stay?

Kurut. It's like chalk and cheese.

3 Responses to Chalk and Cheese: The Art of Going Local

  1. Clarence says:

    Yum. You should open a kurut shop when you get back.

  2. The Kurut Kurse. I was in Kyrgyzstan for two years. To this day I still have random Kurut kravings. Not sure if that is a good thing to have cravings for…

    • robpacker says:

      I brought some kurut back to the UK for Christmas: for some reason my family aren’t as keen on it. I’ll have to educate their palates.

Leave a Reply

